Mom's Magazine

Products

Best Gifts for 2-Year-Olds (2026): Second-Birthday and Holiday Toys Worth Giving

Second-birthday and holiday gifts for 2-year-olds: DUPLO bricks, a chunky vehicle puzzle, a play kitchen, a farm, a dump truck, a Cozy Coupe, a basketball hoop, a grows-into trike, a screen-free audio player, toddler markers, and a feelings pineapple. Listing facts from October 19, 2026. No prices.

By Mom's Magazine Editorial TeamUpdated 2026-10-19

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them, Mom's Magazine may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes which products we recommend. How we recommend products.

For a second birthday or a holiday gift, buy the job a 2-year-old is already doing: bigger bricks, a chunky puzzle, pretend play, a ride-on they power with their feet, a ball, stories without a screen, or a first set of markers. The default single gift on this page is the LEGO DUPLO Brick Box 10913, which the listing calls a 65-piece set for ages 18 months and up. This is a researched guide from eleven in-stock Amazon listings checked October 19, 2026, not a hands-on test. We do not print prices, and we do not state an age the listing itself does not print.

Quick picks

ProductBest for
LEGO DUPLO Brick Box 10913
Top pick
One open-ended building gift at a second birthday, for the listing age of 18 months and upCheck price on Amazon
Melissa & Doug Vehicles Wooden Chunky Puzzle
First puzzle
A 9-piece wooden puzzle to do together, if you can live with two different age lines on the listingCheck price on Amazon
Fisher-Price Little People Caring for Animals Farm
Pretend play
Animal pretend play with buttons, sounds, and figures for the listed ages 1 to 5Check price on Amazon
Step2 Fun with Friends Kids Kitchen
Play kitchen
A full pretend kitchen when the child is in the title's 2+ range and you have floor spaceCheck price on Amazon
Green Toys Dump Truck
Dump truck
A small hauling toy for pretend play when you can accept that the listing states no ageCheck price on Amazon
Little Tikes Cozy Coupe
Ride-on
A foot-powered ride-on car when the child can walk well and you accept that this listing states no ageCheck price on Amazon
Little Tikes Easy Score Basketball Set
Active play
Throwing and chasing a ball at a low hoop, for the listed ages of 18 months to 5 yearsCheck price on Amazon
Radio Flyer Red Rider Trike
Grows into it
A grows-into tricycle once the child matches the listing age of 2.5 to 5 yearsCheck price on Amazon
Toniebox 2 Audio Player Starter Set
Audio
Screen-free stories and songs when you have read all three age lines on the listingCheck price on Amazon
Crayola Triangle Toddler Markers
Art
Washable first markers to use with you nearby, when you accept that no numeric age is printedCheck price on Amazon
Learning Resources Big Feelings Pineapple
Feelings
Naming feelings together, only after you accept that the listing states no age and a high piece countCheck price on Amazon

Researched guide, not a hands-on test

This page is built from eleven Amazon listings that were in stock, with an offer, when we checked them on October 19, 2026 through the Amazon Creators API. Ten were sold by Amazon.com that day. The Toniebox 2 starter set was sold by Tonies US. We read the title and the feature bullets on those listings. Nobody on our team played with these toys for this article. We do not print prices, star ratings, review counts, discounts, or best-seller claims. Safety context comes from the CDC, AAP, and CPSC pages named in the sources. The buttons open the live listing so you can see today's price and confirm you are on the exact variation.

Choose the gift by the job a 2-year-old is already doing

A 2-year-old gift fails the same way a first-birthday gift fails, only louder. Someone buys for the number on the cake. The toy needs a skill the child does not have yet, or it is so simple they are finished in a morning. The gifts that stay on the floor match a job that is already happening: stacking and knocking down, fitting a thick piece into a board, pretending to cook or drive, rolling a ball, asking for the same song, or scribbling and then scribbling again. Those jobs are the shopping list. A holiday flyer is not.

The CDC 2-year milestone page is the developmental map this guide uses. CDC says milestones are things most children (75% or more) can do by a given age, and that the page is not a substitute for validated screening. By 2 years, that page describes saying at least two words together, pointing to pictures in a book and to body parts, holding a container while taking the lid off with the other hand, trying switches, knobs, or buttons, playing with more than one toy at the same time, kicking a ball, running, walking up a few stairs, and eating with a spoon. The tips on that page name the play that matches: block towers you take turns knocking down, simple puzzles, and balls to kick, roll, and throw. The same page says to limit screen time to no more than 1 hour a day of a children's program with an adult present. A toy does not replace you on the floor, and it is not a developmental test.

The CDC toddlers 2–3 parenting page adds the everyday picture around a second birthday: sorting by shape and color, imitating adults and playmates, expressing a wide range of emotions, pretend play, a special time to read, and free play because it helps a toddler stay active. It also says to check toys often for loose or broken parts, and to encourage a toddler not to put pencils or crayons in their mouth when coloring. None of that is a diagnosis, and none of it means a specific brand teaches a milestone. It is why this list is bricks, a puzzle, pretend sets, a ball, stories, and markers, instead of a worksheet.

A second birthday in October, November, or December collides with holiday shopping. The child can get a birthday pile and a holiday pile a few weeks apart. That is how a house ends up with two ride-ons and no building set. Buy for one missing job, then stop. If a first birthday already filled the push-toy slot, this is the next page, not a second copy of that list. Our gifts for 1-year-olds guide stays with push walkers, stacking, a flap book, and the seated-walker warning. The play that does not require a purchase sits on activities for 2-year-olds.

JobWhat you are supportingWhat to read on a listing before you buy
BuildingStacking, fitting, knocking down, putting bricks awayPiece count, brick size language, and the maker's age line
A first puzzleMatching a thick piece to a spaceHow many pieces, what they picture, and whether the title age and the bullets agree
Pretend playCooking, animals, hauling, drivingWhat opens, what is included, and whether it needs batteries
Feet and wheelsRolling, steering, later pedalingWhether an age is printed. A 2.5 start is not a just-turned-2 start
A ballThrowing, running, jumping at a low hoopAdjustable height, how many balls, and the printed age
Stories and songsListening without a screen in their handsWhat comes in the starter set, and the age lines in the title and the bullets
DrawingA first grip and washable colorCount, shape of the marker, and washable or nontoxic wording. Caps still matter
FeelingsNaming a face and a feeling, with you nearbyPiece count. If no age is printed, say so

LEGO DUPLO Brick Box 10913 for a second birthday

Who it is for: a 2-year-old who will dump bricks, stack them, and put them back in a box, and a buyer who wants one open-ended gift for a second birthday or Christmas. It is the above-the-fold pick because the listing's age line already includes a 2-year-old, the set stores itself, and the pieces are described as larger bricks rather than a small building system. It is the wrong pick if you still need the first-birthday push toy. That job is on the 1-year-old gift guide, and the DUPLO train on that page is a different ASIN.

LEGO DUPLO Brick Box 10913, ASIN B07WJJF8PB, is sold by Amazon.com. The title calls it building toys for toddlers, ages 1.5+, with larger bricks and figures, and 65 pieces. The first bullet says the set includes 65 LEGO DUPLO bricks plus familiar pieces, including a toy car with moving wheels, windows, and flowers. It also includes 2 figures, 1-2-3 number-learning bricks, and extra building ideas in the box. The title's 65 pieces and the bullet's "65 bricks plus" are both on the listing. We are not adding them into a new total. Other bullets say the set is a way to help build hand-eye coordination, spatial awareness, and problem-solving, and that kids can build a street with a toy car, a baker's, a small toy house, a tree, and a flower archway. When play is finished, the bricks, pieces, and figures store in the LEGO brick-style toy storage box. The gift bullet says it makes a birthday or Christmas gift for boys and girls ages 18+ months. That 18-month line is why a just-turned-2 is inside the listing, not early for it. Regular-size LEGO bricks are not this ASIN.

Check price on AmazonLEGO DUPLO Brick Box 10913

Melissa & Doug Vehicles Wooden Chunky Puzzle on the floor

Who it is for: a 2-year-old who can sit with you and fit a thick wooden piece into a board, which lines up with the CDC 2-year tip about helping with simple puzzles and naming each piece. Buy it when a building set is already covered, or when you want a gift that ends when the board is full. Skip it if you need the title age and the bullet age to be the same sentence. They are not.

The Melissa & Doug Vehicles Wooden Chunky Puzzle, ASIN B000EK5AEC, is sold by Amazon.com. The title says 9 pieces, a screen-free activity for toddlers, preschoolers, and kids ages 2+, and FSC Certified. The first bullet says 9 extra-thick wooden vehicle pieces, including a fire truck, a police car, a helicopter, and more, for matching and imaginative play. Later bullets say the pieces are easy to hold, that they stand upright, and that the set is a gift for toddlers ages 1 to 2 years, made with FSC-certified materials. The FSC sentence on the bullet we checked is cut off, so this guide does not finish it. Read the age as two listing statements, not one: the title says ages 2+, and a gift bullet says ages 1 to 2. We are not choosing between them. Two later bullets also talk about fitting pets into the board and using animal pieces for pet-themed pretend play, while the title and the first bullet are vehicles. That reads like leftover wording from a different puzzle. Trust the title and the first bullet for what the pieces picture, and confirm the photos on the live page before you pay. The listing does not give dimensions.

Check price on AmazonMelissa & Doug Vehicles Wooden Chunky Puzzle

Fisher-Price Little People Caring for Animals Farm playset

Who it is for: a 2-year-old who already pushes buttons and likes animals, and a household that can keep the figures together. CDC's 2-year page includes trying switches, knobs, or buttons, and playing with more than one toy at a time. CDC's 2–3 page says to encourage pretend play. This listing is that kind of set. It is a poor fit if you wanted a silent toy. The listing is an electronic farm.

The Fisher-Price Little People Caring for Animals Farm, ASIN B0CPN4YBQ6, is sold by Amazon.com. The title calls it a toddler learning toy with Smart Stages content, educational music, and pretend play, for ages 1+ years, and it says Amazon Exclusive. Bullets say the playset has 45+ songs, sounds, and phrases. Three Smart Stages learning levels are described as growing along with the child and teaching counting, opposites, animal sounds, and colors. Play points on the listing: press the barn door button or drop figures through the hayloft for songs, sounds, and phrases; turn on the barn light; hatch the chicks; and pop the corn in the spinning silo. The set comes with 1 farmer figure, 4 animal figures, and 2 food play pieces, sized for small hands. A later bullet says it encourages imaginative storytelling for toddlers and preschool kids ages 1 to 5 years old. The title age and the 1-to-5 bullet are both on the listing. The bullets do not name a battery type or say whether batteries are included. Check that on the live page. We are not guessing it.

Check price on AmazonFisher-Price Little People Caring for Animals Farm

Step2 Fun with Friends Kids Kitchen for toddlers 2 and up

Who it is for: a 2-year-old who wants to imitate cooking, and a buyer who has floor space and two AA batteries. CDC's 2–3 page names imitating adults and pretend play. This is the largest pretend set on the page. It is the wrong gift for a small apartment if you have not measured, and it is the wrong gift if you wanted something that works the morning it arrives without a store run for batteries.

The Step2 Fun with Friends Kids Kitchen, ASIN B0BQK4SGFB, is sold by Amazon.com. The title says an indoor/outdoor kitchenette with lights and sounds, durable plastic, 25-piece toy accessories, toddlers 2+ years, gray. The first bullet says the burner lights up with sizzling sounds and the knobs click, and that it uses 2 AA batteries, not included. Other bullets name a built-in pod coffee maker, a sink and faucet, a roomy counter, and opening fridge and oven doors. The size on the listing is 40.88 inches high, 35.75 inches wide, and 12.5 inches deep, at 24.25 pounds. That is a real piece of furniture in a toddler room. Built-in spots are described for all 25 accessories so cleanup has a place. The plastic is described as durable and easy to clean. The 2+ age is the title's line. We are not stretching it younger. The lights and sounds need the batteries the listing says are not in the box.

Check price on AmazonStep2 Fun with Friends Kids Kitchen

Green Toys Dump Truck for pretend hauling

Who it is for: a 2-year-old who pushes a car along the floor and fills a container, and a buyer who wants a small vehicle instead of a playset. The listing does not state an age, so this guide does not invent one. Match it to a child who already pushes toys, and read the box that arrives. CDC's 2-year examples include holding a container and playing with more than one toy at a time. A dump truck is a container with wheels. That is the job. It is not a milestone score.

The Green Toys Dump Truck, ASIN B073WNQGC7, is sold by Amazon.com. The title says Blue/Orange and also Gold/Blue, pretend play, motor skills, a kids toy vehicle, no BPA, phthalates, or PVC, dishwasher safe, recycled plastic, made in USA, and 10 by 7.5 by 6.75 inches. Those two color pairs are both in the title, so confirm the color on the live page before you check out. Bullets say it is made from 100% recycled plastic, dishwasher safe, made with no BPA, phthalates, PVC, or external coatings, and safe and durable for indoor and outdoor play. The no-BPA line and the made-in-USA line are the listing's claims. We did not lab-test the plastic. No batteries are mentioned. No piece count beyond the truck itself is stated. No age is stated. If a younger sibling still mouths toys, the size in the title is something you can compare with the child's hand on the live page, and we are not calling that a small-parts test.

Check price on AmazonGreen Toys Dump Truck

Little Tikes Cozy Coupe when they want a car of their own

Who it is for: a confident walker who wants to sit in a car and roll it with their feet, indoors or outdoors, in a house that has room for a ride-on. The listing does not state an age. Do not borrow an age from memory or from a different Cozy Coupe listing. Our toddler ride-on toy guide is the category page for foot-powered cars, trikes, and balance bikes, and it uses different ASINs. This page is only the Cozy Coupe ASIN below.

The Little Tikes Cozy Coupe, ASIN B01LY451EC, is sold by Amazon.com. Bullets say it is made in the USA. The removable floorboard is described as making the ride-on transition between parent-controlled and kid-powered modes. With the floorboard out, kids roll themselves using their feet. The included details on the listing: working doors, a steering wheel with a working horn, a moving clicking ignition switch, a gas cap that opens and closes, rugged durable tires, and front wheels that spin 360 degrees. Kids are described as playing with the steering wheel, the key, the horn, and the cup holders. There is storage in the trunk. The listing says it works indoors or outdoors. The tire sentence in that same bullet is cut off after "designed for indoor," so we are not finishing it. No battery is named. No age is named. No dimensions are named. The key is named and not sized. If it comes off in a small piece, take it away. One coupe is enough. Do not also buy the trike on this page unless the child is already inside the trike's 2.5-year line and you truly have room for both, which most rooms do not.

Check price on AmazonLittle Tikes Cozy Coupe

Little Tikes Easy Score Basketball Set with an oversized rim

Who it is for: a 2-year-old who is running, throwing, and chasing a ball, in a room or a yard where a hoop can stand and the base can be weighted. CDC's 2-year page includes kicking a ball, running, and balls to kick, roll, and throw. This listing is a hoop, not a kickball. The age is printed, so we can state it: 18 months to 5 years. A second birthday sits inside that range.

The Little Tikes Easy Score Basketball Set, ASIN B074XB3S8F, is sold by Amazon.com. The title says Pink, Amazon Exclusive, and 22.00 L by 23.75 W by 61.00 H inches. Bullets say there are 6 adjustable heights, from 2.5 to 4 feet, and that you should anchor the base with sand before play. They say play can help hand-eye coordination and physical strength, and throwing, running, jumping, and balance. The rim is described as oversized so it is easier to score. Three junior-sized soft basketballs are included, and they can be inflated if they flatten. The hoop is described as water-resistant for indoor or outdoor use. The age line in the bullets is 18 months to 5 years. The title height of 61 inches and the adjustable play height of 2.5 to 4 feet are both printed. We are not merging them into one number. Confirm which measurement you are looking at on the live page. No batteries are named. Sand for the base is named as something you add. It is not described as included.

Check price on AmazonLittle Tikes Easy Score Basketball Set

Radio Flyer Red Rider Trike as a grows-into gift

Who it is for: a child who is already 2.5, or a 2-year-old whose family is willing to hold the box until the listing's age starts. The title says for ages 2.5–5. A second birthday at 24 months is earlier than that line. Call it a grows-into gift, the way a first-birthday page holds a toy whose age starts at 18 months. It is not the default present to open during the party if the child just turned 2. For the wider ride-on choice, including balance bikes, use best toddler ride-on toys. The trike on that page is a different ASIN.

The Radio Flyer Red Rider Trike, ASIN B00TLFTEUC, is sold by Amazon.com. The title says toddler tricycle, quiet ride wheels, comfort grip handlebars, an easy-carry seat handle, a covered storage bin, and Amazon Exclusive, for ages 2.5–5. Bullets describe sturdy steel construction, quietride wheels, and comfortgrip handlebars. The adjustable seat is described as a fit from ages 2.5–5 so kids can ride longer as balance and coordination improve. A covered rear storage bin is for toys, snacks, or treasures. An easy-to-carry seat-back hand grip is described for curb lifts, car trips, and storage. The listing says Radio Flyer is a Certified B Corp. That is the listing's wording, not a score we assigned. No batteries are named. This is a foot-powered trike, not the Cozy Coupe. If the child is 2 years and 0 months, write the open-after date on the box. If the child is already 2.5 or older, the listing's age line matches.

Check price on AmazonRadio Flyer Red Rider Trike

Toniebox 2 Audio Player Starter Set for screen-free stories

Who it is for: a 2-year-old who wants the same songs and stories again, and a parent who wants that without handing over a screen. CDC's 2-year page says to limit screen time to no more than 1 hour a day of a children's program with an adult. The listing calls this player screen-free. It is a listening toy, not a speech program, and the age lines on the listing do not all use the same end age. Read all three before you buy.

The Toniebox 2 Audio Player Starter Set, ASIN B0FJ3S78NR, is sold by Tonies US, not by Amazon.com. The title says Sky Blue, a portable screen-free audio player for stories, music, and games, for kids 1+, with Playtime Puppy: Favorite Children's Songs, and a gift for kids 1–12+. Bullets say the controls are kid-friendly so listeners can explore stories, songs, and games on their own. They say it is designed for ages 1–9+, with hundreds of Tonies and Tonieplay games to choose from. That "hundreds" line is a catalog you can buy from, not a count of what is in this starter box. The title is what names the included character: Playtime Puppy. A sleep timer with light and a sunrise alarm are on the listing. Tonieplay is described as interactive games, adventures, challenges, and quizzes, for solo or team play. The parent bullet says there are no screens or ads, and that parents can keep an eye on things with the tonies app. The app is a parent tool on the listing. It is not a screen we are assigning to the child. Battery type is not stated in the bullets we checked. The three age lines to keep straight are the title's kids 1+, the bullet's ages 1–9+, and the title's gift for kids 1–12+.

Check price on AmazonToniebox 2 Audio Player Starter Set

Crayola Triangle Toddler Markers for a first drawing set

Who it is for: a 2-year-old who wants to mark paper while you are sitting there, and a buyer who wants washable color instead of a craft kit. The listing does not state a numeric age. It says toddler, young kids, and a beginner child. We are not turning "toddler" into 18 months or 3 years. CDC's 2–3 page says to encourage a toddler not to put pencils or crayons in their mouth when coloring. AAP's choking page names pen or marker caps among household choking hazards. Sit there. Put the caps back on. Put the set away when you leave.

The Crayola Triangle Toddler Markers, ASIN B077V2VLZM, are sold by Amazon.com. The title says 8 count, easy-grip washable markers, arts and crafts supplies, coloring for young kids, nontoxic. Bullets say the set is 8 ultra-clean washable markers in red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple, brown, and black. The triangular shape is described as easy to grasp while guiding fingers to a writing grip. They are described as anti-roll, so they will not roll off the table the way round markers do. The washable claim on the listing is that they will not stain clothing, skin, or furniture. That is Crayola's wording. We did not stain-test them. No battery, no piece count beyond 8 markers, and no age number. The nontoxic word is in the title. It is not a lab report from us.

Check price on AmazonCrayola Triangle Toddler Markers

Learning Resources Big Feelings Pineapple when no age is printed

Who it is for: a child who is naming happy, sad, and mad faces with an adult, when you can accept that the listing prints no age and that the piece count is high. CDC's 2–3 page says toddlers this age express a wide range of emotions. CDC's 2-year page includes noticing when others are hurt or upset. This toy is a face-building set, not a therapy tool, and we are not assigning it an age the maker did not print. If the pieces look small on the live photos, or the box that arrives says 3 and up, it waits.

The Learning Resources Big Feelings Pineapple, ASIN B08PCBDHR3, is sold by Amazon.com. The title calls it fine motor toys and social-emotional tools, a gift for boys and girls, and a classroom must-have. It does not print an age, and the bullets do not either. One bullet says 50 mix-and-match pieces that create facial expressions. Another says to keep all 26 face pieces and accessories stored inside the pineapple by removing the green crown. Both numbers are on the listing. We are not averaging them. Faces are on both sides, so two emotions can be built at once. The material is described as durable soft plastic, flexible, and more comfortable to handle than hard plastic. A full-color emotion guide poster is included. No batteries are mentioned. The piece count is the safety question. Anything that comes off the face and fits in a mouth does not stay on the floor with a child under 3. We did not measure the pieces in a small-parts cylinder.

Check price on AmazonLearning Resources Big Feelings Pineapple

Small parts and choking, for children under 3

A 2-year-old is still under 3. CPSC's small-parts guidance says children's products intended for children under 3 that present a choking, aspiration, or ingestion hazard because of small parts are banned hazardous substances. The ban is 16 CFR part 1501. A small part is any object that fits, without compressing and in any orientation, entirely into the small-parts cylinder, which CPSC says approximates the size of the fully expanded throat of a child under 3. A small part can be a whole toy, a separate piece, or a piece that breaks off during testing that simulates use and abuse. Books and other articles made of paper, and items such as crayons, chalk, pencils, and modeling clay, are on the exclusion list. That exclusion is not a promise that a marker cap is fine. AAP's choking-prevention page says most children who die from choking are under 5, that babies and toddlers explore by putting things in their mouths, and that balloons, balls, marbles, pieces of toys, and small round foods cause the most choking deaths. Household hazards on that page include coins, toys with small parts, toys that can be squeezed into a mouth, small balls, pen or marker caps, and button or lithium coin batteries. Balloons are a risk through age 8. This page is not recommending balloons.

AAP's How to Buy Safe Toys page tells buyers to read the label, including the age, and to think large: toys and parts larger than the child's mouth. Age recommendations help you judge choking hazards, whether the child will understand the toy, and whether it fits their stage. The page also says to watch for button batteries, lithium coin batteries, and high-powered magnets. CDC's 2–3 page says to check toys often for loose or broken parts. Most toy injuries are minor cuts, scrapes, and bruises. A recalled toy should be removed.

We did not cylinder-test these toys

Several listings are labeled for children under 3, which is the age the small-parts ban is written for. That is not the same as us checking each piece in a cylinder. The pineapple states 50 mix-and-match pieces and 26 face pieces, and no age. The coupe names a key and does not size it. The markers are a toddler set with no numeric age, and marker caps are on AAP's household list. The farm figures are sized for small hands for ages 1 to 5. Read the age on the box that arrives. If a piece breaks off small enough to fit in a mouth, take the toy away. Button-battery toys are not identified in these bullets. If a live listing adds a battery compartment you cannot secure, do not treat this page as a pass.

How many gifts, when a birthday and the holidays stack

A 2-year-old does not need eleven new toys in one weekend. They need a few they can repeat. CDC's 2-year tips are repetition: another block tower, another puzzle piece named out loud, another ball rolled back. The same loop tomorrow is the point. A room of unopened boxes is a trip hazard.

Use this ceiling for a second birthday. One building or puzzle gift. The DUPLO box is the default. The vehicle puzzle is the alternate if they already own a brick tub. One pretend or gross-motor gift: the kitchen, the farm, the dump truck, the coupe, or the basketball hoop. Not two ride-ons. The trike waits until 2.5 even if the birthday is this month. A holiday in the same season should fill a gap. If the bricks arrived in October, December can be the markers, the Toniebox, or the farm. It should not be a second kitchen. The pineapple is a together-toy, not a party favor, until you have seen the piece size.

Grandparents do well with a job and an ASIN, not a surprise category. If they want the classic car, send B01LY451EC and say the listing does not print an age. If they want the trike, send B00TLFTEUC and say 2.5–5. If they want something that fits in a bag, the puzzle, the markers, the dump truck, and the pineapple are the small ones, and the pineapple is the one with the piece-count warning. Write the ASIN in the text so they do not land on a similar title that is a different product. The Cloud Collection Cozy Coupe and the 4-in-1 stroll trike on our ride-on guide are not these ASINs.

This page does not show live prices. If you want a grid that refreshes Amazon prices for a separate shelf of baby and toddler gifts, that is the baby and toddler gift guide. Use it to see what Amazon is charging today on that shelf. Use this page to decide which job you are buying for, and which of these eleven variations you meant. The buttons here open the exact ASIN so the price you see is the price of this listing.

What to skip

  • A toy whose box says 3 and up, including small building sets, marble runs, and anything with loose high-powered magnets. AAP says the age label is the choking check. Two listings we opened were labeled for ages 3 and up, so they are not picks on this page.
  • The Radio Flyer Red Rider Trike as the gift they open on a 24-month birthday. The listing says ages 2.5–5. Hold it.
  • The Cozy Coupe and the Red Rider in the same weekend. They are both ride-ons. Pick one, and only pick the trike when the age line matches.
  • An age you remember but the listing does not print. The coupe, the dump truck, the markers, and the pineapple do not state a numeric age here.
  • A second large pretend set. The Step2 kitchen is 40.88 by 35.75 by 12.5 inches and 24.25 pounds. One of those is a room. Two of them is a storage problem.
  • Balloons, marbles, and coins as party extras. They are not on this list. AAP keeps balloons on the choking list through age 8.
  • Treating the Toniebox "hundreds of Tonies" line as the contents of the starter set. The title names the player and Playtime Puppy. The hundreds are what you can choose from.
  • Guessing batteries. Only the Step2 kitchen names them: 2 AA, not included. The farm and the Toniebox do not state a battery in the bullets we checked.

Order the exact variation

Amazon groups similar toys under titles that look alike. The eleven listings we checked on October 19, 2026 are specific ASINs. Each one was in stock and had an offer that day. A later offer can move. If the title on your screen does not match the line below, you are on a different variation, and the features in this guide may not apply. We do not rank shipping speed, coupons, or star ratings.

  • LEGO DUPLO Brick Box 10913, title says 65 pieces and ages 1.5+, bullets say ages 18+ months — ASIN B07WJJF8PB. Sold by Amazon.com.
  • Melissa & Doug Vehicles Wooden Chunky Puzzle, 9 pieces, title says ages 2+, a bullet also says a gift for ages 1 to 2 — ASIN B000EK5AEC. Sold by Amazon.com.
  • Fisher-Price Little People Caring for Animals Farm, Amazon Exclusive, ages 1+ in the title and ages 1 to 5 in a bullet — ASIN B0CPN4YBQ6. Sold by Amazon.com.
  • Step2 Fun with Friends Kids Kitchen, gray, 25 accessories, toddlers 2+ years, 2 AA batteries not included — ASIN B0BQK4SGFB. Sold by Amazon.com.
  • Green Toys Dump Truck, title colors Blue/Orange and Gold/Blue, 10 by 7.5 by 6.75 inches, no age stated — ASIN B073WNQGC7. Sold by Amazon.com.
  • Little Tikes Cozy Coupe, removable floorboard, no age stated — ASIN B01LY451EC. Sold by Amazon.com.
  • Little Tikes Easy Score Basketball Set, Pink, Amazon Exclusive, ages 18 months to 5 years, 3 balls — ASIN B074XB3S8F. Sold by Amazon.com.
  • Radio Flyer Red Rider Trike, Amazon Exclusive, ages 2.5–5 — ASIN B00TLFTEUC. Sold by Amazon.com.
  • Toniebox 2 Audio Player Starter Set, Sky Blue, kids 1+ and a gift for 1–12+ in the title, ages 1–9+ in a bullet — ASIN B0FJ3S78NR. Sold by Tonies US.
  • Crayola Triangle Toddler Markers, 8 count, no numeric age stated — ASIN B077V2VLZM. Sold by Amazon.com.
  • Learning Resources Big Feelings Pineapple, no age stated, bullets say both 50 mix-and-match pieces and 26 face pieces — ASIN B08PCBDHR3. Sold by Amazon.com.

The buttons on this page open those ASINs. Confirm the color, the age line, and the seller on the live page before you pay. If you only buy one thing, it is the LEGO DUPLO Brick Box 10913, with the 18-month line taken from the listing and the price left on Amazon.

If you are buying for your own child

You can buy any of these for your own house. Put one building set or one puzzle on the floor when the stacking starts, not eleven toys on the morning of the party. Tell relatives which slot is filled so the party does not repeat the kitchen or the coupe. If the child is not yet 2.5, the trike can live in a closet with the date on the tape.

If your child is not using words, not interested in other children, or has lost a skill they used to have, a toy is not the answer. CDC's milestone pages say you know your child best, and not to wait: if your child is not meeting one or more milestones, has lost skills, or you have other concerns, talk with the doctor, share your concerns, and ask about developmental screening. The checklist is a screen, not a score you fix with a brick box. Everyday play without a cart is already written up on our activities for 2-year-olds page.

The eleven gifts, from the listings

Every cell is from the Amazon titles and feature bullets checked October 19, 2026. Where a listing does not state an age, a battery, or a count, the cell says so. No prices.

ProductAge on the listingTypeWhat's includedPower / batteriesSold by
LEGO DUPLO Brick Box 10913
Top pick
18+ months (title also says ages 1.5+)Building set with a storage boxTitle says 65 pieces. Bullet says 65 bricks plus a car, windows, flowers, 2 figures, and 1-2-3 number bricksNot electronic. Batteries not mentionedAmazon.comCheck price on Amazon
Melissa & Doug Vehicles Wooden Chunky Puzzle
First puzzle
Ages 2+ in the title. A bullet also says a gift for ages 1 to 2Wooden chunky puzzle9 vehicle pieces, including a fire truck, police car, and helicopter. Later bullets also say petsNone. Not electronicAmazon.comCheck price on Amazon
Fisher-Price Little People Caring for Animals Farm
Pretend play
Ages 1+ in the title; ages 1 to 5 in a bulletElectronic animal farm1 farmer, 4 animals, 2 food pieces, 45+ songs, sounds, and phrases, 3 Smart Stages levelsElectronic. Battery type not stated in the bulletsAmazon.comCheck price on Amazon
Step2 Fun with Friends Kids Kitchen
Play kitchen
Toddlers 2+ yearsPretend kitchen with lights and sounds25 accessories, coffee maker, sink, fridge, and oven. 40.88 x 35.75 x 12.5 inches, 24.25 lb2 AA batteries, not includedAmazon.comCheck price on Amazon
Green Toys Dump Truck
Dump truck
Not statedDump truck for pretend playOne truck. Title size 10 x 7.5 x 6.75 inches. 100% recycled plasticNone mentionedAmazon.comCheck price on Amazon
Little Tikes Cozy Coupe
Ride-on
Not statedRide-on car, parent-controlled or foot-poweredRemovable floorboard, working doors, horn, ignition switch, gas cap, trunk, cup holders. Wheels spin 360 degreesNo batteries named. Horn and ignition are described as workingAmazon.comCheck price on Amazon
Little Tikes Easy Score Basketball Set
Active play
18 months to 5 yearsAdjustable basketball hoopOversized rim, 6 heights from 2.5 to 4 feet, 3 soft junior balls. Title also says 22 x 23.75 x 61 inchesNo batteries. Balls can be inflated. Sand the base; sand not described as includedAmazon.comCheck price on Amazon
Radio Flyer Red Rider Trike
Grows into it
Ages 2.5–5Toddler tricycleSteel frame, adjustable seat, quietride wheels, comfortgrip handlebars, covered storage bin, carry gripFoot-powered. No batteries namedAmazon.comCheck price on Amazon
Toniebox 2 Audio Player Starter Set
Audio
Kids 1+ and gift ages 1–12+ in the title; ages 1–9+ in a bulletScreen-free audio playerStarter title names Playtime Puppy. Hundreds of Tonies are choices, not the box count. Sleep timer and sunrise alarmNot stated in the feature bullets we checkedTonies USCheck price on Amazon
Crayola Triangle Toddler Markers
Art
Not stated as a number. Title says toddler markers for young kidsWashable markers8 colors: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple, brown, black. Triangular, anti-rollNoneAmazon.comCheck price on Amazon
Learning Resources Big Feelings Pineapple
Feelings
Not statedMix-and-match feeling facesBullets say both 50 mix-and-match pieces and 26 face pieces, double-sided faces, storage under the crown, and an emotion posterNone. Not electronicAmazon.comCheck price on Amazon

Affiliate links use tag bestprod0fcf1-20. Listings were in stock with an offer on October 19, 2026. We do not print a price.

Our Recommendations

LEGO DUPLO Brick Box 10913 building set with a storage box
Top pick18 months+

LEGO DUPLO Brick Box 10913

Best for: One open-ended building gift at a second birthday, for the listing age of 18 months and up

The title says 65 pieces and ages 1.5+. Bullets say 65 DUPLO bricks plus a car with moving wheels, windows, flowers, 2 figures, and 1-2-3 number bricks, with extra build ideas and storage in the brick-style box. The gift line says ages 18+ months. Sold by Amazon.com.

  • Title: 65 pieces, ages 1.5+, larger bricks and figures
  • 65 DUPLO bricks plus a toy car, windows, flowers, 2 figures, and 1-2-3 number bricks
  • Build ideas include a street, a baker's, a small house, a tree, and a flower archway
  • Stores in the LEGO brick-style box
  • Birthday or Christmas gift line: ages 18+ months

Keep in mind: The title says 65 pieces and the first bullet says 65 bricks plus other pieces. We are not adding those into a new count. This is not a regular-size LEGO set.

Check price on Amazonat Amazon · last reviewed 2026-10-19
Melissa and Doug wooden chunky vehicle puzzle
First puzzleAges 2+ (title)

Melissa & Doug Vehicles Wooden Chunky Puzzle

Best for: A 9-piece wooden puzzle to do together, if you can live with two different age lines on the listing

The title says 9 pieces, ages 2+, and FSC Certified. The first bullet says 9 extra-thick wooden vehicle pieces, including a fire truck, police car, and helicopter. A later bullet calls it a gift for toddlers ages 1 to 2. Other bullets mention pets and animal pieces, which conflicts with the vehicle title.

  • 9 extra-thick wooden pieces
  • Title pictures vehicles: fire truck, police car, helicopter, and more
  • Title age: ages 2+. A gift bullet also says ages 1 to 2
  • Pieces are described as standing upright
  • Title says FSC Certified. The FSC bullet we checked is cut off

Keep in mind: The listing disagrees with itself on age (2+ in the title, 1 to 2 in a bullet) and on theme (vehicles in the title, pets in later bullets). Confirm the photos on the live page.

Check price on Amazonat Amazon · last reviewed 2026-10-19
Fisher-Price Little People Caring for Animals Farm playset
Pretend play1–5 years

Fisher-Price Little People Caring for Animals Farm

Best for: Animal pretend play with buttons, sounds, and figures for the listed ages 1 to 5

Amazon Exclusive. The title says ages 1+ years. Bullets say 45+ songs, sounds, and phrases, 3 Smart Stages levels, a barn door button, a hayloft, a barn light, hatching chicks, and a spinning silo. Contents: 1 farmer, 4 animal figures, and 2 food pieces. A bullet says ages 1 to 5.

  • 45+ songs, sounds, and phrases
  • 3 Smart Stages levels: counting, opposites, animal sounds, and colors
  • 1 farmer, 4 animals, and 2 food pieces
  • Barn button, hayloft drop, barn light, chicks, and a spinning silo
  • Ages 1+ in the title; ages 1 to 5 in a bullet

Keep in mind: It is electronic, and the bullets do not say what batteries it uses or whether they are included. The figures are sized for small hands, so keep them off the floor of a younger sibling.

Check price on Amazonat Amazon · last reviewed 2026-10-19
Step2 Fun with Friends kids kitchen playset in gray
Play kitchen2+ years

Step2 Fun with Friends Kids Kitchen

Best for: A full pretend kitchen when the child is in the title's 2+ range and you have floor space

The title says an indoor/outdoor kitchenette with lights and sounds, 25-piece accessories, toddlers 2+ years, gray. The burner lights up and makes sizzling sounds. Knobs click. It uses 2 AA batteries, not included. Listing size is 40.88 inches high, 35.75 inches wide, 12.5 inches deep, and 24.25 pounds.

  • Toddlers 2+ years, gray
  • 25 toy accessories with built-in storage spots
  • Burner light and sizzling sounds; knobs click
  • 2 AA batteries, not included
  • Coffee maker, sink and faucet, fridge, and oven doors

Keep in mind: Large and heavy on the listing: 40.88 by 35.75 by 12.5 inches and 24.25 pounds. It does not work as advertised until you add the batteries.

Check price on Amazonat Amazon · last reviewed 2026-10-19
Green Toys dump truck
Dump truck

Green Toys Dump Truck

Best for: A small hauling toy for pretend play when you can accept that the listing states no age

The title says Blue/Orange and Gold/Blue, 10 by 7.5 by 6.75 inches, no BPA, phthalates, or PVC, dishwasher safe, recycled plastic, made in USA. Bullets say 100% recycled plastic, no BPA, phthalates, PVC, or external coatings, and indoor and outdoor play. No age is stated.

  • Age not stated on the listing
  • Title size: 10 by 7.5 by 6.75 inches
  • 100% recycled plastic; dishwasher safe
  • No BPA, phthalates, PVC, or external coatings, per the listing
  • Made in USA, per the title

Keep in mind: No age is printed, and the title names two color pairs (Blue/Orange and Gold/Blue). Confirm the color on the live page. The material claims are the listing's, not a lab test we ran.

Check price on Amazonat Amazon · last reviewed 2026-10-19
Little Tikes Cozy Coupe ride-on car
Ride-on

Little Tikes Cozy Coupe

Best for: A foot-powered ride-on car when the child can walk well and you accept that this listing states no age

Sold by Amazon.com. The removable floorboard is described as switching between parent-controlled and kid-powered modes. With the floorboard out, kids roll using their feet. Working doors, a horn, a clicking ignition switch, a gas cap, cup holders, trunk storage, and front wheels that spin 360 degrees are on the listing. No age is stated.

  • Age not stated on the listing
  • Removable floorboard: parent-controlled or kid-powered, feet on the floor when it is out
  • Working doors, horn, clicking ignition switch, and a gas cap that opens
  • Front wheels spin 360 degrees; trunk storage; cup holders
  • Listing says it works indoors or outdoors, and that it is made in the USA

Keep in mind: No age and no dimensions. The listing names a key and does not size it. The tire sentence is cut off. One ride-on is enough if you also looked at the trike.

Check price on Amazonat Amazon · last reviewed 2026-10-19
Little Tikes Easy Score basketball set in pink
Active play18 months–5 years

Little Tikes Easy Score Basketball Set

Best for: Throwing and chasing a ball at a low hoop, for the listed ages of 18 months to 5 years

Pink, Amazon Exclusive. Six heights adjust from 2.5 to 4 feet. The title also prints 22.00 L by 23.75 W by 61.00 H inches. An oversized rim, 3 junior-sized soft balls, and a water-resistant frame for indoor or outdoor use. Anchor the base with sand. Ages 18 months to 5 years.

  • Ages 18 months to 5 years
  • 6 heights, from 2.5 to 4 feet
  • 3 junior-sized soft basketballs that can be inflated
  • Oversized rim
  • Water-resistant for indoor or outdoor use; sand the base before play

Keep in mind: The title height is 61 inches and the adjustable range is 2.5 to 4 feet. Both are printed. Sand is something you add. The listing does not say sand is included.

Check price on Amazonat Amazon · last reviewed 2026-10-19
Radio Flyer Red Rider Trike
Grows into it2.5–5 years

Radio Flyer Red Rider Trike

Best for: A grows-into tricycle once the child matches the listing age of 2.5 to 5 years

Amazon Exclusive. The title says ages 2.5–5. Bullets describe steel construction, quietride wheels, comfortgrip handlebars, an adjustable seat for ages 2.5–5, a covered rear storage bin, and a seat-back carry grip. The listing says Radio Flyer is a Certified B Corp.

  • Ages 2.5–5 in the title and in the seat bullet
  • Sturdy steel, quietride wheels, comfortgrip handlebars
  • Adjustable seat
  • Covered rear storage bin
  • Seat-back hand grip for carrying

Keep in mind: Too early for a child who just turned 2 if you follow the listing. Hold it until 2.5. It is not the same ASIN as the trike on our ride-on guide.

Check price on Amazonat Amazon · last reviewed 2026-10-19
Toniebox 2 audio player starter set in sky blue
Audio1+ (title)

Toniebox 2 Audio Player Starter Set

Best for: Screen-free stories and songs when you have read all three age lines on the listing

Sky Blue, sold by Tonies US. The title says kids 1+, Playtime Puppy: Favorite Children's Songs, and a gift for kids 1–12+. A bullet says designed for ages 1–9+, with hundreds of Tonies to choose from. Sleep timer with light, sunrise alarm, and a parent app are on the listing. No screens or ads, per the bullet.

  • Screen-free player for stories, music, and games
  • Starter title names Playtime Puppy
  • Ages 1+ and gift ages 1–12+ in the title; ages 1–9+ in a bullet
  • Sleep timer with light and a sunrise alarm
  • Parents can use the tonies app; sold by Tonies US

Keep in mind: Hundreds of Tonies are a catalog, not the contents of this box. Battery type is not in the bullets we checked. The age lines do not share one end age.

Check price on Amazonat Tonies US · last reviewed 2026-10-19
Crayola triangular toddler markers, set of 8
Art

Crayola Triangle Toddler Markers

Best for: Washable first markers to use with you nearby, when you accept that no numeric age is printed

8 count. The title says easy-grip washable markers for young kids, nontoxic. Colors listed: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple, brown, and black. The shape is triangular and described as anti-roll. The listing says they will not stain clothing, skin, or furniture. No numeric age is stated.

  • 8 washable markers in 8 named colors
  • Triangular easy-grip shape
  • Described as anti-roll
  • Title says nontoxic
  • Age number not stated; listing says toddler and young kids

Keep in mind: No numeric age. AAP lists marker caps as a choking hazard, and CDC's 2–3 page says coloring should not go in the mouth. The no-stain line is the listing's claim.

Check price on Amazonat Amazon · last reviewed 2026-10-19
Learning Resources Big Feelings Pineapple toy
Feelings

Learning Resources Big Feelings Pineapple

Best for: Naming feelings together, only after you accept that the listing states no age and a high piece count

No age is stated in the title or the bullets. One bullet says 50 mix-and-match pieces for facial expressions. Another says 26 face pieces and accessories store inside when the green crown comes off. Faces are on both sides. A full-color emotion poster is included. Soft flexible plastic, per the listing.

  • Age not stated on the listing
  • Listing says both 50 mix-and-match pieces and 26 face pieces
  • Double-sided faces
  • Stores under the green crown
  • Emotion guide poster included; soft plastic

Keep in mind: No age, and the piece count is high enough to be a small-parts question. We did not measure the faces. If the box says 3 and up, it is not a 2-year-old floor toy.

Check price on Amazonat Amazon · last reviewed 2026-10-19

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Mom's Magazine may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a good gift for a 2-year-old?

A toy that matches a job they are already doing: bigger bricks, a chunky puzzle, pretend play, a foot-powered ride-on, a ball, stories, or markers used with you nearby. On this page the default single gift is the LEGO DUPLO Brick Box 10913. The listing says 65 pieces, ages 1.5+ in the title, and ages 18 months and up in the gift bullet, with a car, 2 figures, number bricks, and a storage box. This is a researched guide from listings checked October 19, 2026, not a hands-on test.

Is the Radio Flyer Red Rider Trike okay for a second birthday?

Only if the child is already at the age on the listing, or you are willing to hold the box. The title and the seat bullet say ages 2.5–5. A child who just turned 2 is younger than that line. Treat it as a grows-into gift. It is steel, foot-powered, with an adjustable seat, a covered storage bin, and a carry grip. It is not the same trike ASIN as the one on our toddler ride-on guide.

Do the Cozy Coupe, the dump truck, the markers, and the feelings pineapple list an age?

No. Those four listings do not state a numeric age in the title or the bullets we checked. The Little Tikes Easy Score basketball set does: 18 months to 5 years. We are not filling in the blanks. The Big Feelings Pineapple also states both 50 mix-and-match pieces and 26 face pieces, which is a small-parts question until you see the box.

How do small parts rules apply to toys for 2-year-olds?

A 2-year-old is still under 3. CPSC bans small parts in products intended for children under 3 when those parts fit entirely inside the small-parts cylinder (16 CFR part 1501). AAP says to read the age label and to choose toys and parts larger than the child's mouth, and to avoid button batteries and high-powered magnets. AAP also names marker caps as a household choking hazard. We did not cylinder-test these eleven listings.

How many gifts should a 2-year-old get when a birthday and the holidays are close together?

One building or puzzle gift and one pretend or gross-motor gift is a full second birthday if those jobs are not already covered. A holiday in the same season should fill a gap, not copy the ride-on or the kitchen. The Step2 kitchen needs floor space and 2 AA batteries that are not included. Put extras away and rotate. Eleven new toys in one weekend is more than a 2-year-old can use.

Sources & Further Reading

Mom's Magazine Editorial Team

Editorial Team

The Mom's Magazine editorial team researches and writes practical, plainly-sourced guidance for parents and families. Guides are reviewed for accuracy and updated as recommendations change. Where a topic calls for professional expertise, we cite reputable organizations and, for health topics, add a qualified reviewer before publishing.

Newsletter

Get the Weekly Mom List

One short email a week: the most useful guides, activities, and picks for your family. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

By signing up you agree to receive email from Mom's Magazine. We'll never sell your information. See our Privacy Policy.